Year of Python (YOP) – Week Fifteen

13Apr15

Hello Readers!

This week I’m taking a trip back to the past a bit (for me anyway).  Originally I was planning on publishing some code that worked with IMAP and webmail accounts, however I ran out of time in getting the code in a working state.  My plan is still to publish it during this Year of Python.  I’m looking for it to do a specific task with the Spam folder, but I don’t want to say much more than that now.

However, if you want to see an excellent write up on using Python and IMAP/email, check out this post from the System Forensics Blog.

Now this particular piece of code this week I used a long time ago for a case I was working on.  At the time I was going through some Apache log files, and I needed to verify two types of log entries.  One was if a hashed password was being included in the URL string, and then the second was to decode some %xx characters in other URL entries (ex %2f).  At the time I was hoping to automate the process a bit better for my workflow, but the reality of time stepped in, so I turned it into a menu that would just prompt me for what I wanted to do.

Which is all in this piece of code:

while quit_prog:
    choice = raw_input("Choose md5 or url (type quit to exit): ")
    if choice.lower() == "md5":
        enter_md5 = raw_input("Enter the text to convert to md5: ")
        print create_md5(enter_md5)
    elif choice.lower() == "url":
        enter_url = raw_input("Enter the url text to convert: ")
        print decode_url(enter_url)
    elif choice.lower() == "quit":
        quit_prog = False

The code is rather simple.  I just set it up to prompt me if I was decoding and MD5, or a URL.  After that I would just copy/paste what I wanted to decode.  At that point the script would just run the corresponding function, and either generate the MD5 hash from the text I put in, or decode the special characters in the URL.

And that’s it!  Again this was one of these programs I designed to satisfy a need at the time, but it worked.  Moving forward I would probably look at just feeding in the Apache logs and then outputting the decoded data.  That will be version 2.0!

Until next time!

https://github.com/CdtDelta/YOP

No Responses Yet to “Year of Python (YOP) – Week Fifteen”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

