Year of Python (YOP) – Week Nine

02Mar15

Hello Readers!

This week is a continuation of sorts from my code from last week.  As you recall I created a script to parse the volume boot record of a FAT32 volume.  This week my script is designed to parse a volume boot record from a FAT12/16 file system.

The overall goal will be a single script that will determine which volume boot record it’s dealing with, and pull out the appropriate information.  From there it will be incorporated to a larger script that you can point at a disk image, and it will parse out all the partition information for you in one shot.

Now again there are a lot of different tools already that can parse this information, but it gives me a great change to practice my Python coding.  And doing it in this structured way allows me to have a “baseline” to test from as the overall script takes form.

Next week I’ll have a script to parse out an NTFS VBR, and from there I’ll be putting all the components together.

Until next week!

https://github.com/CdtDelta/YOP

No Responses Yet to “Year of Python (YOP) – Week Nine”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

