Year of Python (YOP) – Week Eight

23Feb15

Hello Reader!

I teach part time at a college.  It’s a great experience being able to pass on things you’ve learned in the field you work in.  And for me it helps reinforce a lot of the “fundamentals” that one takes for granted as the years go on.  I definitely recommend anyone who gets the opportunity to teach a class to take advantage of it.

Some of the assignments I give out to my students require them to parse data with a hex editor.  I like making scripts to parse out my lab and homework assignments because it saves me from having to use a hex editor. 🙂  And I also get to go through all the images I have really quickly to figure out which ones to use for assignments.

So this week I wrote a script to parse FAT32 Volume Boot Records.  My overall goal is to write a large script that can parse either FAT12/16/32 VBR’s, but it’s not there yet.  It will slowly appear over the course of this Python adventure I’m on.

Until next week!

https://github.com/CdtDelta/YOP

No Responses Yet to “Year of Python (YOP) – Week Eight”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

